DALRYMPLE VINEYARDS

I have had a few meals in my life that I would describe as memorable. Most recently a lunch at the house of Commons where  Conservative MP Andrew Bridgen made Alan B’stard look like Jeremy Corbyn.  Another being a Japanese restaurant in Singapore with a tomato so expensive it was flown in with his  own first class seat that morning. I have accidentally ordered a $100 mushroom in Tokyo, taken a vegan on a date to a steak house and at my prep school, cook Fernando cut his hand off in the mincer and we were still given shepherds pie for supper.There was no doubt it was more Limb than Lamb and everyone claimed to have found a finger nail that night.

In 2000 , I was in Launceston, Tasmania and while the name of the restaurant is long forgotten , the meal and wine we drank has always remained not only on my mind, but very close to my heart

Dalrymple Pinot Noir. 

It is not only a great privilege to be able to offer the wine from this  tiny estate, but something I have dreamt of for 16 years and unlike poor Fernando, I now grab this opportunity with both hands and urge you to treat yourself to something special.

To put simply  – Tasmania makes great great  wine . If you flipped the world upside down, it would have the same latitude as northern Spain, but with a more temperate climate it is able to make world class Pinot Noir to rival great Burgundy.

I will hand over to the wine maker Peter Caldwell

“I’m a simple man – my favorite things in life, apart from Pinot, are thick woolen socks on cold winter’s nights, my rusty old pocketknife, making dried-smoked goose-meat sausages with my neighbors at Christmas time, and spear fishing in the river by my home.

“I’m a Tasmanian sheep farmer by birth but the mystery that turns grapes into wine hooked me early.

“Pinot Noir has always been my passion – the most difficult grape to grow, the most difficult wine to make well. The most satisfying of victories.”

darymple

Dalrymple Vineyards

2013  Pinot Noir- £165.00 per 6 inc VAT

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment